YOURLS – Thank You!

Even before I had installed YOURLS for URL shortening, I was like totally amazed by it.

and now that I have, just can get over how amazing it actually is!!

Did I tell you that it’s TOTALLY AMAZING!

It is amazing in itself – lets you have your own personal URL Shortener. But gets even better with the plug-ins.

I used a plugin to connect YOURLS with your WordPress.org blog

YOURLS – WordPress to Twitter

Now, upon publishing a post on my WP.org blog, all I need to do is scroll down a little, confirm the tweet content, and hit the tweet button.

It also gives me a short URL for each post, just like WordPress.com gives via wp.me, and in the same way on a toolbar-isque location!

So now whenever I publish a post,

  • Each post gets a new short URL automagically,
  • I can even reset the short URL.
  • Each post can be tweeted right from the Edit Post page,
  • and the tweet shows my own twitter app (the app is a part of connect twitter with YOURLS plugin 🙂 , but stilll!)

  • Whenever I need to share the short URL for a post, I just go to the post, and click on shortlink to get the shortened URL 😉

Totally AWEstruck!

P. S. I am still looking out for a way to get the shortlink as the permalink to the post, and directly display it along with the post! Let me know if you know a good way to do it – a plug-in would do too 🙂

3 thoughts on “YOURLS – Thank You!

  1. Pingback: Test for Picasa Auto-Embed | Fake Asininity

  2. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks

    • Hey! Thanks for the comment.
      Starting a blog on WordPress.com or Blogspot.com is the easiest way to get into blogging.
      There’s nothing technical to it. I am sure you’ll get hang of it pretty quick 🙂

      Let me know in case you need any more ideas or suggestions.

Leave a Reply

